Better than Airbnb

Bye-bye mattress!

Why classic hotels do not need to fear Airbnb

text: Hans Schloemer   //  photography: istock

An airbed and breakfast. It was a simple idea. Airbnb, a contraction of “airbed” and “breakfast”, began in 2008 in San Francisco as an online exchange for simple places to sleep in private apartments. Today, the start-up company is an overnight empire: over 300 million guests, around 4.5 million properties worldwide – from sofa beds to luxury homes. France, as the world’s number 1 destination country, has a particularly strong profile: Paris is Airbnb’s biggest market, with around 60,000 offers available.

It is not just hoteliers who are feeling unsettled by this. Politicians and residents are also angry. Online platforms such as Airbnb, they claim, encourage the more unpleasant aspects of mass tourism and drive residents out because of rising property and rental prices. Residents also feel burdened by the noise of constantly changing guests.

“They’re hotels by another name!”

Paris already has a limit of 120 days per year for the rental of entire apartments. The question is, however, whether all of the property owners adhere to that limit. Ian Brossat, Deputy Mayor responsible for housing, is calling for a complete ban on the rental of entire private homes to tourists in the centre of Paris. “The city has lost 20,000 apartments and houses in the last five years”, says Brossat. “They’re hotels by another name!” Business people would buy apartments in order to convert them into money-making machines by renting them out through online platforms.

Jacques Boutault, Mayor of the 2nd arrondissement, is also crying foul. His district has lost around 3,000 residents, he says, including many families. Three schools have allegedly already closed classrooms. “It’s important that inner cities stay authentic and vibrant. That’s ultimately what the tourists come for”, says Boutault.

Airbnb France regards such claims as “out of touch with public opinion” and “removed from the legal reality”. Despite all the criticism, growth continues apace: by 2028, it is anticipated that Airbnb will be hosting a billion overnight stays per year. The giant has long since been looking carefully at wealthy customers. Airbnb boss Brian Chesky launched Airbnb Plus for this very reason.

Declaration of war on the hotel industry

Bye-bye mattress, hello luxury: Airbnb Plus promises standards offered by the best hotels. It also aims to create a category for boutique hotels. This is a clear declaration of war on the classic hotel industry. So should it be worried? Not really.

It is true that even commercial Airbnb suppliers are still enjoying the tremendous competitive advantage of appearing to remain protected from the enormous requirements to which the hotel industry is subjected and which drive up its costs. It is possible that, in some cases, they are not even paying tax or insurance. But this imbalance will surely in future be corrected through legislation, to protect the interests of cities and communities in the first place.

It is also becoming apparent that Airbnb prices are approaching hotel prices. This will also discourage potential users, as will possible discrimination during the booking process, unreliability on the part of the property owner, and not least concerns of not knowing what they will find when they get there.

Emotional experiences

Contrasting this are the transparency and superior service that hotels can offer. Even smaller and medium-sized businesses do not need to fear competition from Airbnb. Provided they have something to offer other than rooms and breakfast, that is. This might include personal service, a friendly, perhaps even family-style atmosphere, and culinary moments of pleasure.

Far too few hotels are using their technical superiority over private providers. Anyone who can open their room door using an app, check in while on the move with total convenience or pay virtually, will find their stay particularly stress-free.

As the worlds of media and digital technology have evolved, guests have changed too. They want to be entertained, they value emotional experiences and stories that they can tell back home. A hotel that is more than just functional is literally a place of experiences and entertainment, increasing loyalty and bringing positive comments on social networks, firing up the good old word-of-mouth system, which – even in the age of the Internet – is a factor that should never be under-estimated.

Rosy prospects

Hotels are able to score points here by particularly highlighting the personality of the host or destination, or by creating unusual hotel rooms that can be featured on social networks such as Instagram. In open lobbies with a relaxed, lounge-like character, there is always something to see, and they offer the perfect place for guests to strike up conversations. Why leave the sense of community to Airbnb? Cooking lessons, book reading evenings, a gallery for local artists – good ideas and real customer services have always been the key to success in the hotel industry.

The prospects for the French hotel industry are rosy in any case. The populations of India or China, for example, have only just started to discover travel. As their affluence increases, so too will their desire to travel. And France is right at the top of their list of destinations.

 

MORE TOPICS

  • How can individual hotels stay ahead? Let HRS be your solution!

    Since the turn of the millennium, demand for smaller, individual hotels with a relaxed atmosphere...

    go to article
  • Keep it simple: make check-in painless for travellers

    It’s a familiar story for today’s business traveller: that red-eye flight was delayed and jet lag is...

    go to article
  • to top

Besser als Airbnb

Adieu Matratze!

Warum klassische Hotels Airbnb nicht fürchten sollten

text: Hans Schloemer   //  photography: istock

Eine Luftmatratze und ein Frühstück. Das war die simple Idee. Airbnb, eine Abkürzung aus „Airbed“ und „Breakfast“, begann 2008 in San Francisco als Online-Börse für einfache Schlafplätze in Privatwohnungen. Heute ist das Start-up-Unternehmen ein Übernachtungsimperium: über 300 Millionen Gäste, rund 4,5 Millionen Unterkünfte weltweit – vom Klappsofa bis zum Luxusanwesen. Frankreich als globales Reiseland Nr. 1 ist da besonders im Fokus: Mit etwa 60.000 Angeboten gilt Paris als größter Airbnb-Markt.

Nicht nur Hoteliers zeigen sich besorgt, auch Politiker und Anwohner laufen Sturm. Online-Plattformen wie Airbnb, so der Vorwurf, fördern die unschönen Seiten des Massentourismus, vertreiben die Einwohner durch steigende Wohnungs- und Mietpreise. Anwohner fühlen sich durch den Lärm ständig wechselnder Gäste belästigt.

„Das sind getarnte Hotels!“

Paris hat bereits ein Limit von 120 Tagen pro Jahr für die Vermietung gesamter Wohnungen eingeführt. Fraglich ist, ob sich auch alle Anbieter daran halten. Ian Brossat, als Vize-Bürgermeister zuständig für das Ressort Wohnen, fordert ein komplettes Verbot für die Vermietung ganzer Privatquartiere an Touristen im Zentrum von Paris. „20.000 Wohnungen und Häuser hat die Stadt in den letzten fünf Jahren eingebüßt“, sagt Brossat. „Das sind getarnte Hotels!“ Geschäftsleute würden Wohnungen kaufen, um sie durch Vermietung über Online-Plattformen in Gelddruckmaschinen zu verwandeln.

Auch Jacques Boutault, Bürgermeister des 2. Arrondissements, schlägt Alarm. Sein Stadtteil habe rund 3.000 Bewohner verloren, darunter viele Familien. Drei Schulen hätten bereits Klassen geschlossen. „Es ist wichtig, dass die Innenstädte authentisch und lebendig bleiben. Deswegen kommen ja auch die Touristen“, bekräftigt Boutault.

Airbnb Frankreich sieht solche Äußerungen „ohne Bezug zur öffentlichen Meinung“ und „losgelöst von der legalen Realität“. Gegen alle Kritik soll das Wachstum munter weitergehen: Bis 2028 rechnet man mit einer Milliarde Übernachtungen pro Jahr. Längst schielt der Gigant auf gut betuchte Kunden. Dafür hat Airbnb-Chef Brian Chesky Airbnb Plus ins Leben gerufen.

Kampfansage an die Hotellerie

Adieu Matratze, hallo Luxus: Airbnb Plus verspricht Standards, die beste Hotels bieten. Außerdem soll eine Rubrik für Boutique-Hotels geschaffen werden. Eine eindeutige Kampfansage an die klassische Hotellerie. Muss die sich jetzt Sorgen machen? Wohl eher nicht.

Zwar genießen selbst gewerbliche Airbnb-Anbieter noch den enormen Wettbewerbsvorteil, von den immensen Auflagen verschont zu bleiben, die für die Hotelbranche gelten und deren Kosten in die Höhe treiben. Möglicherweise werden in manchen Fällen nicht mal Steuern und Versicherungen gezahlt. Doch dieses Ungleichgewicht dürfte künftig allein schon im Interesse der Städte und Gemeinden durch entsprechende Gesetze korrigiert werden.

Zudem ist zu beobachten, dass sich die Airbnb-Preise den Hotelpreisen angleichen. Das wird der potenzielle Nutzer ebenso abwägen wie mögliche Diskriminierungen bei der Buchung, Unzuverlässigkeiten seitens der Vermieter und nicht zuletzt die Unberechenbarkeit, was er tatsächlich am Zielort vorfindet.

Emotionale Erlebnisse

Dagegen steht die Transparenz und Serviceüberlegenheit von Hotels. Gerade kleinere und mittlere Betriebe müssen die Konkurrenz durch Airbnb nicht scheuen. Vorausgesetzt, sie haben etwas zu bieten, was über Zimmer und Frühstück hinausgeht. Dazu zählen etwa ein persönlicher Service, eine freundliche, vielleicht sogar familiäre Atmosphäre, kulinarische Genussmomente.

Viel zu wenige Hotels nutzen ihre technische Überlegenheit gegenüber privaten Anbietern. Wer per App seine Zimmertür öffnen, ganz bequem mobil einchecken oder virtuell bezahlen kann, wird seinen Aufenthalt als besonders stressfrei empfinden.

Der Gast hat sich im Zuge der medialen und digitalen Entwicklung verändert. Er möchte unterhalten werden, schätzt emotionale Erlebnisse und Geschichten, die er zu Hause erzählen kann. Ein Hotel, das mehr ist als nur funktional, nämlich ein Ort des Erlebens und Entertainments, erhöht die Loyalität, bringt positive Kommentierungen in sozialen Netzen und befeuert die gute alte Mundpropaganda – selbst in Zeiten des Internets ein nicht zu unterschätzender Faktor.

Rosige Aussichten

Hotels können hier punkten, indem sie die Persönlichkeit des Gastgebers oder der Destination besonders hervorheben, außergewöhnliche Hotelzimmer kreieren, die in sozialen Netzwerken wie Instagram vorzeigbar sind. In offenen Lobbys mit entspanntem Wohnzimmercharakter gibt es immer etwas zu sehen, hier entsteht ein Austausch unter Gästen. Warum soll man ein Community-Gefühl nur Airbnb überlassen? Kochkurse, Literaturabende, eine Galerie für lokale Künstler – gute Ideen und echter Kundenservice waren schon immer eine Voraussetzung für Erfolg im Hotelgewerbe.

Die Aussichten für die französische Hotelbranche sind ohnehin rosig. Die Bevölkerung von Indien oder China hat erst mit dem Reisen begonnen. Dort erhöht der steigende Wohlstand die Reiselust. Und Frankreich steht ganz oben auf der Wunschliste.

 

WEITERE THEMEN

  • Neue Wege des Marketings: Mit HRS zum Erfolg

    Seit der Jahrtausendwende steigt die Nachfrage nach kleineren, individuellen Hotels mit entspannter...

    Artikel lesen
  • So einfach wie möglich: Einchecken leicht gemacht

    Jeder Geschäftsreisende kennt das Problem: Der Nachtflug hatte Verspätung, der Jetlag bringt die...

    Artikel lesen
  • to top