Figures from the Netherlands

Corporate sleeping

How do business travellers book their stay? Trends to watch

text: Marijn Ruhaak  //  photography: istock

The times are long gone in which business travels were booked through the travel agent around the corner, and hotels over the phone. Nowadays, travellers book their own trips and stays themselves easily through the internet. That means that hotel owners have to be smarter and faster in order to reach the potential booker. To start with, good knowledge of the current trends and possible developments on the long term will get you a long way.

Facts and figures

In 2015, up to 16.8 nights were booked in Dutch hotels, in most cases by guests from the United Kingdom, the United States and Germany. Of all the corporate travel traffic, almost two thirds have an individual business-orientated reason. That’s about 3.3 million business travellers who visit the Netherlands for an appointment, a visit to headquarters or some other work-related visit. The more than 1.2 million other business travellers are part of an organised trip for a meeting, incentive, congress or trade fair.

Source: CBS (Statistics Netherlands) – investigation into the number of nights that business travellers booked in the period between 2007–2015

From travel agent to mobile phone

The fact that people mainly do their bookings through the internet won’t be news to your ears. But how is this business actually going at the moment? Sojern published a Hotel Report in 2017, in which the booking amount of travellers was analysed. The report shows that the number of online bookings has increased extensively over the past few years: in most segments to a minimum of half the number of hotel bookings. Is all of this done via smartphone? Not yet. At the end of 2016, approx. 10–15% of all online bookings were made through smartphone. The rest is done on the computer.

Upward trend

However, this does not mean that hotel owners don’t have to aim for a decently working booking tool for smartphones, as this clearly shows an upward trend. Koddi conducted a smaller investigation amongst 250 business travellers and discovered that 16.5% of the travellers who are currently still booking through a computer are planning to use a tablet or smartphone in the future.

From platform to self-booking

Travellers who use the internet to book a hotel, have a variety of methods at their disposal to make a reservation. They can book a room themselves, ask help from an OTA, or have the booking process done by an online travel manager, who is or isn’t linked to the company for which they work. Koddi also put the development in this area under the microscope. According to the results of this investigation, 26.8% of the travellers prefer booking through the booking website of their company, 34.5% prefer to search through OTAs and 38.8% prefer to book directly with the hotel.

Source: www.koddi.com/where-are-the-business-travelers/

 

The Growth of Mobile Hotel Queries:

Google International Data. US. July 2015to December 201

 

Considering the fact that mobile phones are gaining ground, it can be expected that OTAs will mean big business. After all, travellers who choose their smartphone over the computer book through an OTA much more frequently (Citeo, 2017).

Combination of business and relaxation

You might think that business trips only consist of long meetings, deliberations and events in grey, fluorescent halls – but then you would be wrong. More and more business travellers are starting to value a cultural experience and relaxation during their stay. It appears as though the fine line between business travel and holidays is steadily vanishing because of this. Business travellers no longer settle for boring, grey surroundings where functionality is more important than atmosphere. The popularity of relaxation, comfort and extra facilities in and around the accommodation is also increasing in this sector.

Bleisure trips

  • 47% of business travellers would like to take a holiday after their business trip – one in three has already done so.
  • Interest is declining among those over 40: Only 25% want to go on a bleisure trip. Among those over 60, the figure is still 12%.
  • 76% of business travellers would like to take their partner with them on this bleisure trip.

Source: Innofact AG, June 2018

High-tech stay

The technological developments don’t stop with the booking alone. Business travellers are increasingly longing for hotels with sufficient technological developments. Think about mobile check-in possibilities or a luggage storage robot. Or like the CitizenM hotels in Amsterdam, New York and London offer: a tablet with which guests can control the drapes, lighting, alarm clock, television and temperature.

Sustainable travel

A development that is worth keeping an eye on is the increasing need of companies but also of individual travellers to travel in a sustainable way. Although personal meetings are gaining ground over staying at home to protect the environment, travellers are definitely sensitive to environmentally friendly options. And what’s more: one third of the companies only book hotels with sustainability certificates, of which the Netherlands have a couple of hundred.* It is therefore important to put the environmental impact under the microscope – and as it turns out, that’s a lot easier than expected.

* Source: www.greenkey.nl/l/library/download/369675 

Facts & tips

At the moment, the environmental impact within hotels costs the Dutch society 1.78 euros per room per night. That comes down to 40 million euros a year, and can be halved with some simple measures according to the investigators of EcoChain:

Use green electricity. Environmental impact – 0.52 euros.

Vegetarian food in the restaurant: environmental impact: -0.05 euros (+ 7 million euros a year of purchase advantage for hotels)

Replace animal products with vegetables. Environmental impact: -0.10 euros (+ 20 million euros a year of purchase advantage for hotels)

Water-saving shower head. Environmental impact: -0.08 euros

From residual to cash flow. Environmental impact: -0.25 euros

           

Total profit: 1 euro

“In addition to an environmental profit of 40 million euros a year, the Dutch hotel sector can also realise 37 million euros a year of purchase advantage: 20 million by offering vegetarian meals and 17 million by installing water-saving shower heads.”

ABN AMRO, 2017

More Topics

  • Virtual payments

    Virtual payments are becoming a reality – not only in China but in other parts of the world, too....

    go to article
  • A sign of respect

    The word has got out that reviews on online portals play a big part in bookings. That makes it all...

    go to article
  • to top

Zahlen aus den Niederlanden

Unterwegs für die Firma

Was sind die aktuellen Trends, wenn Geschäftsreisende ihre Übernachtungen buchen?

text: Marijn Ruhaak  //  photography: istock

Vorbei sind die Zeiten, als Geschäftsreisen über das Reisebüro um die Ecke und Hotels am Telefon gebucht wurden, wie diese Beobachtungen aus den Niederlanden zeigen. Heute buchen die meisten, die beruflich unterwegs sind, übers Internet. Hotelbesitzer müssen sich deshalb einiges einfallen lassen, um ihre potenziellen Gäste anzusprechen. Wer die aktuellen Trends und mögliche langfristige Entwicklungen kennt, ist einen Schritt voraus.

Zahlen und Fakten

Im Jahr 2015 wurden bis zu 16,8 Millionen Übernachtungen in niederländischen Hotels gebucht, meist von Gästen aus Großbritannien, den USA und Deutschland. Im Jahr 2015 kamen etwa 3,3 Millionen Geschäftsreisende in die Niederlande. Knapp zwei Drittel davon haben einen persönlichen Termin, die anderen 1,2 Millionen sind Teil einer organisierten Reise für ein Meeting, Incentive, einen Kongress oder eine Messe.

Quelle: CBS (Statistics Netherlands), Untersuchung der Anzahl der Übernachtungen von Geschäftsreisenden im Zeitraum 2007–2015

Vom Reisebüro zum Handy

Die Tatsache, dass Reisende ihre Buchungen hauptsächlich über das Internet vornehmen, wird für Sie keine Neuigkeit sein. Aber wie läuft dieses Geschäft im Moment eigentlich? Sojern veröffentlichte 2017 einen Bericht, in dem die Buchungszahlen der Reisenden analysiert wurden. Er zeigt, dass die Zahl der Online-Buchungen in den letzten Jahren stark zugenommen hat: In den meisten Segmenten sind mindestens die Hälfte der Hotelbuchungen online. Wird all dies über das Smartphone abgewickelt? Noch nicht. Ende 2016 wurden 10 bis 15 % aller Online-Buchungen über das Smartphone vorgenommen.

Aufwärtstrend

Aufgrund dieses deutlichen Aufwärtstrends sollten Hotelbesitzer bereits jetzt auf ein gut funktionierendes Buchungstool für Smartphones setzen. Koddi führte eine kleinere Untersuchung unter 250 Geschäftsreisenden durch und stellte fest, dass 16,5 % der Reisenden, die derzeit noch über einen Computer buchen, planen, in Zukunft ein Tablet oder Smartphone zu benutzen.

Von der Plattform zur Selbstbuchung

Reisende, die das Internet nutzen, um ein Hotel zu buchen, haben eine Vielzahl von Möglichkeiten, eine Reservierung vorzunehmen. Sie können selbst ein Zimmer buchen, Hilfe von einem Online-Reisebüro oder -Portal anfordern oder den Buchungsprozess von einem Online-Reisemanager durchführen lassen, der eventuell sogar mit dem Unternehmen, für das sie arbeiten, einen Vertrag hat. Koddi hat auch diese Entwicklung unter die Lupe genommen. Danach bevorzugen 26,8 % der Reisenden die Buchung über die Buchungswebsite ihres Unternehmens, 34,5 % die Suche über Online-Reisebüro und 38,8 % die direkte Buchung beim Hotel.

Quelle: www.koddi.com/where-are-the-business-travelers/

 

The Growth of Mobile Hotel Queries:

Google International Data. US. July 2015to December 201

Angesichts der Tatsache, dass Smartphones weiter an Bedeutung gewinnen, werden in Zukunft immer mehr Buchungen über Online-Reisebüros laufen. Jetzt schon buchen Geschäftsreisende, denen das Smartphone wichtiger ist als der Computer, öfter über ein Online-Portal (Citeo, 2017).

Kombination aus Geschäft und Entspannung  

Wer meint, Geschäftsreisen bestehen nur aus langen Meetings, Beratungen und Veranstaltungen in stickigen Räumen, liegt falsch. Immer mehr Geschäftsreisende schätzen ein kulturelles Erlebnis und Entspannung bei ihren Reisen. Fast scheint es, als gäbe es zwischen Geschäftsreisen und Urlaub nur noch einen schmalen Grat. Fakt ist, dass sich Geschäftsreisende nicht mehr mit langweiligen, grauen Umgebungen zufriedengeben, in denen Funktionalität wichtiger ist als Atmosphäre. Der Wunsch nach Entspannung, Komfort und zusätzlichen Einrichtungen in und um die Unterkunft herum ist deutlich gestiegen.

Geschäfte abwickeln und Freizeit einbinden

  • 47 % der Geschäftsreisenden würden gerne nach einer Geschäftsreise einen Urlaub anhängen – jeder Dritte hat dies bereits getan.
  • Bei den über 40-Jährigen sinkt das Interesse: Nur 25 % wollen Geschäft und Freizeit verbinden. Bei den über 60-Jährigen sind es immer noch 12 %.
  • 76 % der Geschäftsreisenden möchten ihren Partner auf einem solch angehängten Urlaub dabeihaben.

Quelle: Innofact AG, Juni 2018

High-Tech-Aufenthalt

Die technologische Entwicklung endet nicht bei der Buchung. Geschäftsreisende sehnen sich zunehmend nach Hotels mit hohem technologischem Standard, etwa mobilen Check-in-Möglichkeiten oder einem Gepäckaufbewahrungsroboter. Ein weiteres Beispiel sind die CitizenM-Hotels in Amsterdam, New York und London: Sie bieten den Gästen zur Steuerung von Vorhängen, Beleuchtung, Wecker, Fernseher und Temperatur ein Tablet.

Nachhaltiges Reisen

Eine Entwicklung, die man beobachten sollte, ist die wachsende Nachfrage von Unternehmen, aber auch von Einzelreisenden, nach nachhaltigen Reisen. Gerade weil persönliche Treffen immer mehr an Bedeutung gewinnen, sind Reisende offen für umweltfreundliche Optionen. Inzwischen bucht ein Drittel der Unternehmen nur Hotels mit Nachhaltigkeitszertifikaten, von denen die Niederlande bereits einige Hundert haben.* Es ist daher wichtig, die Umweltauswirkungen auf den Prüfstand zu stellen. Das ist einfacher, als man vielleicht zunächst erwartet.

* Quelle: www.greenkey.nl/l/library/download/369675 

Fakten und Tipps

Derzeit belaufen sich die Kosten in Sachen Umweltbelastung in Hotels für die Niederlande auf 1,78 Euro pro Zimmer und Nacht. Das sind 40 Millionen Euro pro Jahr, die sich laut den Ermittlern von EcoChain mit einigen einfachen Maßnahmen halbieren lassen:

  • Verwenden Sie Ökostrom: -0,52 Euro Umweltbelastung
  • Vegetarisches Essen im Restaurant: -0,05 Euro Umweltbelastung (+ 7 Millionen Euro pro Jahr Einkaufsvorteil für alle Hotels)
  • Ersetzen Sie tierische Produkte durch Gemüse: -0,10 Euro Umweltbelastung (+ 20 Mio. Euro pro Jahr Einkaufsvorteil)
  • Wassersparender Duschkopf: -0,08 Euro Umweltbelastung
  • Vom Restwert zum Cashflow: -0,25 Euro Umweltbelastung

Gesamtgewinn: 1 Euro

„Neben einem ökologischen Gewinn von 40 Millionen Euro pro Jahr kann die niederländische Hotellerie auch 37 Millionen Euro pro Jahr über Einkaufsvorteile einsparen: 20 Millionen durch vegetarische Gerichte und 17 Millionen durch den Einbau von wassersparenden Duschköpfen.“

ABN AMRO, 2017

Weitere Themen

  • Virtual Payment

    Virtuelles Bezahlen wird Realität – und das nicht nur in China, sondern auch im Rest der Welt. In...

    Artikel lesen
  • Zeichen von Respekt

    Dass Bewertungen in Onlineportalen beim Buchen eine große Rolle spielen, hat sich herumgesprochen....

    Artikel lesen
  • to top