Band in the hotel

“attractive, well-run and clean”

Comfortable beds, a nightcap at the bar, breakfast in the room and a late checkout – after tough days working, Alec Völkel and Sascha Vollmer of The BossHoss want to feel good in hotels.

text: Antoinette Schmelter-Kaiser   //  photography: istock

The BossHoss was formed in 2004. Since then, the band has published eight albums, the most recent being “Black is Beautiful” at the end of October 2018. It tours regularly; the next one is planned from 16 March to 6 April 2019 and will include Leipzig, Hamburg, Frankfurt, Hanover, Stuttgart, Vienna, Munich, Zurich, Oberhausen and Berlin. The BossHoss’s trademarks are a mix of rock, country and blues music, coupled with their signature style of jeans, white ribbed vests, cowboy boots, Stetsons and sunglasses. Alec Völkel, aka Boss Burns, and Sascha Vollmer, aka Hoss Power, have become even more famous as judges on “The Voice of Germany” and as guests on “Sing meinen Song”. From winter 2018/2019, they will appear as coaches on “The Voice Senior”.

You’ve been in the music business for 14 years, have just published your eighth album and have given hundreds of concerts. So do you still enjoy travelling?

We also do our job because we like performing on stage in front of people. So we’re already raring to go and looking forward to performing live again from March. During a tour, we often all travel on a nightliner from one city to the next. This ensures great dynamism among us. From bar to kitchen and bunk beds, this kind of tour bus has everything on board, albeit crammed into a very small space. On top of this, we also have to attend promotional events, give interviews and do film recordings. Where possible, we drive or fly back home from such events in the evening.

But if you do stay in hotels, what is important for you?

After performances, it’s difficult to just switch off and sleep immediately. So we love it when we can get a nightcap at the bar after midnight or eat something proper rather than just snacking. And one of us might then want to use the sauna or go for a swim. Hotels of a certain quality should make these things possible. But we don’t demand such special treatment; we’re generally offered these services in the same way as we’re invited to leave an entry in the guest book. Our tour manager will clarify any special requests in advance and usually takes care of check-in for us, too.

What things are important for you in your room?

Simply because we’re a rock and roll band, we don’t like sleeping on uncomfortable beds. After a tough day, we need a restful sleep. And an easy-to-use air conditioning or lighting system is important, instead of having to fiddle around with it for ages. It’s great if we can order breakfast in the room so we’re not tied to normal restaurant opening times. If we need to leave early, checking out should be a quick and simple process. And if we’re not setting off until the afternoon, a late checkout is better than having to stand around in the lobby with all our bags at 11 am.

Bands like yours automatically conjure up the stereotype image of sex, drugs and rock ‘n’ roll. How do hoteliers react if you happen to break something?

We know how to behave; we’ve never trashed a room. When you were still allowed to smoke in hotel rooms, we might have caused an occasional cigarette burn in a duvet cover. But there’s insurance for things like that.

What setting do you need when giving interviews in a hotel?

There’s usually enough options – the restaurant outside of opening times, small conference rooms or a room that you can hire for a few hours with drinks service included.

Do you bother about the number of stars a hotel has?

It doesn’t have to be five. The main thing is that a hotel is attractive, good and clean, and that we feel at ease there. In the USA, we’ve even stayed in motels because of the special atmosphere they offer. When we travel abroad, we set our sights somewhat lower, as people there don’t want to incur high expenses.

One exception was the South African resort where “Sing meinen Song” was produced.

Yes, the setting was idyllic; everyone had their own little house during our stay there. And because the whole site was rented, we were always together as a team and our every need was taken care of – a very special experience indeed.

Do you prefer to remain anonymous in hotels?

If we’re away with our families, our privacy is important to us. Otherwise, we don’t mind being recognised. It’s okay if someone wants an autograph or a photo. If we’re in a hurry, our manager plays the bad cop and sends fans away, albeit in a friendly way.

 

MORE TOPICS

  • How can individual hotels stay ahead? Let HRS be your solution!

    Since the turn of the millennium, demand for smaller, individual hotels with a relaxed atmosphere...

    go to article
  • Dorint's back!

    Dorint? What was that? It's more than 15 years since the former favourite of business travellers and...

    go to article
  • to top

Band im Hotel

‚,Schön, gut, sauber“

Bequeme Betten, Absacker an der Bar, Frühstück im Zimmer, Late Check-out – Alec Völkel und Sascha Vollmer von The BossHoss wollen sich nach anstrengenden Tagen in Hotels wohlfühlen.

text: Antoinette Schmelter-Kaiser   //  photography: istock

The BossHoss wurde 2004 gegründet. Seither hat die Band acht Alben veröffentlicht – zuletzt Ende Oktober 2018 „Black is Beautiful“ – und geht regelmäßig auf Tour; die nächste führt vom 16.3. bis 6.4.2019 nach Leipzig, Hamburg, Frankfurt, Hannover, Stuttgart, Wien, München, Zürich, Oberhausen und Berlin. Markenzeichen von The BossHoss ist ein Musikmix aus Rock, Country und Blues sowie ihr Styling mit Jeans, weißen Ripp-Unterhemden, Cowboystiefeln, Stetsons und Sonnenbrillen. Noch bekannter wurden Alec Völkel alias Boss Burns und Sascha Vollmer alias Hoss Power als Jury-Mitglieder von „The Voice of Germany“ und Gastgeber bei „Sing meinen Song“. Ab Winter 2018/2019 sind sie Coaches bei „The Voice Senior“.

Sie sind seit 14 Jahren im Musikgeschäft, haben gerade Ihr achtes Album veröffentlicht und Hunderte von Konzerten gegeben. Haben Sie trotzdem noch Spaß am Unterwegssein?

Wir machen unseren Job auch, weil wir gerne vor Publikum auf der Bühne stehen. Insofern scharren wir jetzt schon mit den Hufen und freuen uns, ab März wieder live zu spielen. Während einer Tournee fahren wir oft alle zusammen mit einem Nightliner von einer Stadt zur nächsten. Das sorgt für eine tolle Dynamik. Von Bar über Küche bis zu Stockbetten ist in einem solchen Tourbus alles mit an Bord, allerdings auf engstem Raum. Abgesehen davon haben wir auch Promotion-Termine, geben Interviews, müssen zu Filmaufnahmen. Wenn möglich, fahren oder fliegen wir in solchen Fällen abends wieder nach Hause zurück.

Wenn Sie in Hotels übernachten: Was ist Ihnen dort wichtig?

Nach Auftritten kann man nicht einfach den Schalter umlegen und sofort schlafen. Insofern freuen wir uns, wenn wir nach Mitternacht in der Bar noch einen Absacker bekommen oder etwas zu essen außer Nüssen. Es kommt auch vor, dass einer von uns dann noch in die Sauna möchte oder ins Schwimmbad. Hotels auf einem gewissen Niveau sollten so etwas möglich machen. Diese Art von Sonderbehandlung fordern wir aber nicht ein, sondern bekommen sie in der Regel genauso wie einen Eintrag ins Gästebuch angeboten. Spezielle Wünsche klärt unser Tourmanager im Vorfeld ab. Der übernimmt meist auch das Einchecken für uns.

Worauf legen Sie Wert in Ihrem Zimmer?

Nur weil wir Rock ’n’ Roller sind, schlafen wir nicht auf Pritschen. Nach einem anstrengenden Tag brauchen wir bequeme Betten. Und eine Klimaanlage oder Beleuchtungssysteme, die man problemlos bedienen kann, statt eine halbe Stunde mühsam rumzuprobieren. Ideal ist es, wenn man Frühstück ins Zimmer bestellen kann, damit man nicht auf die üblichen Zeiten im Restaurant festgelegt ist. Falls wir früh wegmüssen, sollte das Auschecken schnell und unkompliziert klappen. Und wenn es erst nachmittags weitergeht, ist ein Late Check-out angenehmer, als um 11 Uhr mit der Tasche in der Lobby stehen zu müssen.

Bei Bands wie Ihrer denkt man automatisch an das Klischee von Sex, Drugs und Rock ’n’ Roll. Wie reagieren Hoteliers, wenn bei Ihnen mal etwas zu Bruch geht?

Wir wissen uns zu benehmen, haben noch nie ein Zimmer zerlegt. Als man dort noch rauchen durfte, kam vielleicht mal ein Brandloch im Bettbezug vor. Aber dafür gibt es Versicherungen.

Welchen Rahmen brauchen Sie für Interviews im Hotel?

Da gibt es meist genug Möglichkeiten: das Restaurant außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten, kleine Konferenzräume oder ein Zimmer, das man inklusive Getränkeservice für einige Stunden mietet.

Achten Sie auf die Anzahl der Sterne eines Hotels?

Es müssen nicht fünf sein. Wesentlicher ist, dass ein Hotel schön, gut und sauber ist, wir uns dort wohlfühlen. In den USA haben wir wegen der besonderen Atmosphäre auch schon in Motels übernachtet. Im Ausland backen wir kleinere Brötchen, weil da niemand hohe Kosten übernimmt.

Eine Ausnahme war das südafrikanische Resort, in dem „Sing meinen Song“ produziert wurde.

Ja, das lag traumhaft; jeder hatte dort während unseres Aufenthalts ein eigenes kleines Zuhause. Weil die ganze Anlage angemietet wurde, waren wir als Team immer unter uns und wurden komplett umsorgt – eine sehr spezielle Situation.

Bleiben Sie in Hotels am liebsten unerkannt?

Wenn wir mit der Familie unterwegs sind, ist uns Privatsphäre wichtig. Ansonsten haben wir kein Problem damit, erkannt zu werden. Will jemand ein Autogramm oder Foto, ist das okay. Falls wir es eilig haben, übernimmt unser Manager die Rolle des Bad Cop und wimmelt Fans freundlich ab.

 

WEITERE THEMEN

  • Neue Wege des Marketings: Mit HRS zum Erfolg

    Seit der Jahrtausendwende steigt die Nachfrage nach kleineren, individuellen Hotels mit entspannter...

    Artikel lesen
  • Dorint nun wieder!

    Dorint? War da mal was? Immerhin ist es mehr als 15 Jahre her, dass der einstige Liebling deutscher...

    Artikel lesen
  • to top