New payment systems

Virtual payment is the future

Virtual payments are becoming a reality – not only in China but in other parts of the world, too. With various smartphone-based payment systems also launching in Germany recently, the hotel industry should prepare accordingly.

text: Jan Rähm  //  photography: istock

The country needs new payment systems: Cash is king in Germany. Signs saying “No card payments” can still be found daily in restaurants and shops. However, more and more people in the country want to be able to pay for things electronically. Not only with a debit or credit card, but also using mobile phones or other means.

Virtual payments are already commonplace for internet purchases. According to a survey by the industry association Bitkom, more than 65% of all customers already use online payment service providers such as PayPal or Amazon Payments. While cash remains the undisputed preferred payment method for over-the-counter business and the catering trade, credit and debit cards are the clear winners in the hotel industry. However, known online-retailing payment methods are gaining importance. For example, in a study published in 2018, the retail research Institute EHI found, among other things, that popular e-Commerce payment methods are being increasingly offered for over-the-counter trade.

 

Using mobile phones for non-online purchases is becoming easier

Special browser-based payment systems are not widely used for over-the-counter trade or in the hotel industry, even though they enable a customer to settle their bill on the spot at a terminal using virtual payment methods.

New, smartphone-based card terminals such as those offered by SumUp or iZettle are far more widespread and practical. These are small devices, hardly bigger than a credit card, which connect to a smartphone or tablet via Bluetooth. As well as supporting debit and credit card payments, these modern terminals are also already compatible with the gradually emerging virtual payments process, which uses smartphones or smart watches.

Mobile phones as a means of payment

So far, opportunities for virtual, smartphone-based payments have been slow to take off in Germany. However, 2018 could become the year of mobile payment methods. For example, search-engine giant Google launched it’s “Google Pay” solution in the middle of the year. And the long-heralded “Apple Pay” launched End of 2018. This has already been available in selected countries worldwide for over four years. High-tech manufacturer Samsung also offers a similar independent payment system through “Samsung Pay”, which has already gone live in some countries across the world and could launch soon in Germany. The savings banks and cooperative banks have also launched similar independent solutions in 2018.

A common feature of all these solutions is that payment card data is stored in an app. Whereas the Apple and Google solutions have (so far) only allowed the use of credit cards (which must be issued by participating banks), the apps offered by the savings banks and cooperative banks also accept debit cards.

New technology, proven payments

The method and fundamental payment process are identical: the hotelier initiates the payment using the payment terminal. The customer holds their smartphone or their smart watch in front of the terminal and contact is established using near field communication (NFC). The customer enters their PIN to confirm the payment. Generally, no PIN is required for amounts less than EUR 25. This is especially practical for fast payments at the bar or in hotel shops.

The costs of the whole process are little different to those for conventional card-based payments. The customer incurs no costs within Germany. The hotelier pays a certain percentage to the system provider. The risks are also comparable – possibly even somewhat lower because biometric access locks ensure a reduced likelihood of a customer using a stolen smartphone. An added benefit for hoteliers is the simpler use of a wireless-based payment system with no read errors such as those experienced with systems relying on chips and magnetic strips. However, if a hotel wants to make all customers feel equally welcome, it must support all the established payment methods, which can mean having several readers and service providers.

“Mobile money” for business customers

Business customers can use a further type of virtual payment method. We have recently seen the emergence of virtual credit card suppliers. For example, HRS offers these in cooperation with AirPlus International and American Express. Companies can generate single-use card data for their employees, who then use the data to book their stays. The advantage: the credit card can only be used once and cannot be lost or misused. The number transmitted does not enable staff on reception to identify that the employee is using a virtual card. A detailed, paperless bill is issued for the stay.

Some banks also offer this form of virtual credit card. The card number is generated on a case-by-case basis via an online portal or a corresponding interface within the company’s IT system and forwarded to the employee. They can then use the “card” to book their trip as usual.

Simpler, faster, more secure

Virtual payment systems make the payment process simpler and faster for hoteliers. Security is also increased thanks to the advanced security features of smartphones and the opportunities offered by virtual disposable credit cards. Every hotelier just needs to be prepared. The appropriate readers and confidence in using them are essential.

 

MORE TOPICS

  • How can individual hotels stay ahead? Let HRS be your solution!

    Since the turn of the millennium, demand for smaller, individual hotels with a relaxed atmosphere...

    go to article
  • “I’d like to pay with bitcoin, please!”

    Alongside cash and traditional electronic payment methods, Internet-based systems are gaining...

    go to article
  • to top

Neue Bezahlmethoden

Virtual Payment

Virtuelles Bezahlen wird Realität – und das nicht nur in China, sondern auch im Rest der Welt. In letzter Zeit sind auch in Deutschland zahlreiche Smartphone-basierte Bezahlsysteme gestartet. Die Hotelbranche tut gut daran, bereit zu sein.

text: Jan Rähm  //  photography: istock

Neue Zahlsysteme braucht das Land: Deutschland ist das Land des Bargelds. Alltäglich findet man noch Aushänge in Gastronomie und Einzelhandel: „Keine Kartenzahlung möglich“. Dabei wünschen sich immer mehr Menschen im Land, elektronisch bezahlen zu können. Und nicht nur mit EC- oder Kreditkarte, sondern gern auch mit dem Handy oder auf ganz anderen Wegen.

Im Internet ist das Bezahlen mittels Virtual Payment schon gang und gäbe. Laut einer Untersuchung des Branchenverbands Bitkom nutzen bereits mehr als 65 Prozent aller Kunden Online-Bezahldienstleister wie Paypal oder Amazon Payments. Während im stationären Handel und in der Gastronomie die Barzahlung noch immer unangefochten die Nummer eins der Zahlverfahren ist, überwiegen im Hotelgewerbe deutlich Kredit- und EC-Karten. Dabei gewinnen aus dem Online-Handel bekannte Bezahlverfahren zunehmend an Bedeutung. So hat das Handelsforschungsinstitut EHI in einer 2018 veröffentlichten Studie unter anderem herausgefunden, dass immer mehr aus dem e-Commerce bekannte Zahlungsarten im stationären Handel angeboten werden.

 

Mobil bezahlen jenseits der Online-Welt ist heute nicht schwer

Eine nicht allzu verbreitete Sonderlösung stellen Browser-basierte Bezahlsysteme im stationären Handel und in der Hotellerie dar. Dabei kann der Kunde seine Rechnung vor Ort mithilfe von virtuellen Zahlverfahren an einem Terminal begleichen.

Deutlich verbreiteter und praktischer sind neuartige Smartphone-basierte Kartenterminals, wie sie von SumUp oder iZettle angeboten werden. Dabei handelt es sich um kleine Geräte, kaum größer als eine Kreditkarte, die per Bluetooth an ein Smartphone oder Tablet angebunden sind. Diese modernen Terminals unterstützen nicht nur die Zahlung per EC- oder Kreditkarte, sondern sind schon bereit für die langsam aufkommenden virtuellen Zahlverfahren, bei denen Smartphones oder Smart Watches eingesetzt werden.

Das Handy als Zahlungsmittel

Virtuelle Bezahlmöglichkeiten per Smartphone kamen in Deutschland bisher nur langsam in Fahrt. Doch 2018 könnte das Jahr der mobilen Bezahlmethoden werden. So startete Mitte des Jahres der Suchmaschinen-Riese Google mit seiner Lösung „Google Pay“. Im Herbst 2018 folgte das lang angekündigte „Apple Pay“, das weltweit bereits seit über vier Jahren in ausgewählten Ländern nutzbar ist. Auch der Hightech-Hersteller Samsung betreibt mit „Samsung Pay“ ein vergleichbares eigenes Bezahlsystem, das weltweit in einigen Ländern bereits aktiv ist und in Deutschland bald starten könnte. Vergleichbare eigene Lösungen haben die Sparkassen sowie die Volksbanken und Raiffeisenbanken ebenfalls 2018 an den Start gebracht.

Diesen Lösungen ist gemein, dass in einer App Daten von Bezahlkarten hinterlegt werden. Während bei Apple und Google (bisher) ausschließlich Kreditkarten möglich sind und diese auch nur von kooperierenden Banken stammen dürfen, können bei den Apps von Sparkassen und Volksbanken und Raiffeisenbanken auch EC-Karten genutzt werden.

Neue Technik, bewährtes Bezahlen

Der Umgang und der grundsätzliche Bezahlvorgang sind gleich: Der Hotelier initiiert die Bezahlung auf dem Bezahlterminal. Der Kunde hält sein Smartphone oder seine Smart Watch vor das Gerät, und der Kontakt wird über die Nahbereichsfunktechnik NFC hergestellt. Der Kunde bestätigt die Zahlung mit seiner PIN. Bei Beträgen unterhalb von 25 Euro braucht es im Regelfall keine PIN. Das ist vor allem beim schnellen Bezahlen an der Bar oder im Hotel-Shop praktisch.

Der gesamte Vorgang unterscheidet sich hinsichtlich der Kosten kaum vom bisherigen kartengebundenen Bezahlen. Innerhalb Deutschlands kostet es den Kunden nichts. Der Hotelier zahlt einen gewissen Prozentsatz an den Systemanbieter. Entsprechend sind auch die Risiken vergleichbar, eventuell etwas geringer, da die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass der Kunde ein gestohlenes Smartphone nutzt, dank biometrischer Zugangssperren sinkt. Als weiteren Vorteil für den Hotelier erweist sich der einfachere Umgang mit dem funkbasierten Zahlungssystem, das keine Lesefehler wie bei Chip und Magnetstreifen kennt. Allerdings: Sollen alle Kunden gleich willkommen sein, muss der Hotelier alle etablierten Zahlungsmethoden unterstützen, was zu mehreren Lesegeräten und Serviceanbietern führen kann.

„Handygeld“ für Firmenkunden

Businesskunden können eine weitere Spielart virtueller Zahlverfahren nutzen. In jüngster Zeit gibt es Anbieter virtueller Kreditkarten. Diese bietet beispielsweise HRS in Kooperation mit AirPlus International und American Express an. Dabei können Firmen für ihre Mitarbeiter Einmal-Kartendaten generieren, über die der Aufenthalt gebucht wird. Der Vorteil: Die Kreditkarte kann nur einmal genutzt werden und nicht verloren gehen oder missbraucht werden. Der Mitarbeiter an der Rezeption kann anhand der übermittelten Nummer nicht erkennen, dass es sich um eine virtuelle Karte handelt. Die Abrechnung des Aufenthalts erfolgt detailliert und papierlos.

Auch einige Banken bieten diese Form virtueller Kreditkarten an. Die Kartennummer wird dabei über ein Onlineportal oder eine entsprechende Schnittstelle in der Unternehmens-IT anlassbezogen erzeugt und dem Mitarbeiter weitergeleitet. Der kann die „Karte“ wie gewohnt für die Reisebuchung einsetzen.

Einfacher, schneller, sicherer

Mit virtuellen Bezahlsystemen wird der Zahlvorgang für Hoteliers einfacher und schneller. Dank der guten Absicherung der Smartphones und der Möglichkeit virtueller Einmal-Kreditkarten wächst auch die Sicherheit. Nur bereit sein muss jeder Hotelier für sich selbst. Das passende Lesegerät sowie der souveräne Umgang damit sind Pflicht.

 

WEITERE THEMEN

  • Neue Wege des Marketings: Mit HRS zum Erfolg

    Seit der Jahrtausendwende steigt die Nachfrage nach kleineren, individuellen Hotels mit entspannter...

    Artikel lesen
  • „Ich möchte bitte mit Bitcoin zahlen!“

    Neben Bargeld und traditionellen elektronischen Zahlungsmethoden gewinnen internetbasierte Systeme...

    Artikel lesen
  • to top